Tags

, ,

fullsizerender8-copy

Fig & Walnut Cake

Homemade cakes are one of my favourite on bakery world. So, whenever somebody visits me, cannot leave home without eating a piece of homemade cake, it means give me some fruit, apple, fig, pear, pumpkin, banana, whatever, I bake you cake. I use very simple but delicious way to go to homemade cake.

This time I was planning to bake a banana cake but on last minute with changing plans of my visitors, I opened my refrigerator and used whatever I found. I love this kind of spicy and less sugared and less oiled cakes.

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar (I usually use as less as I can, for example for fig cake I use more fig, ½ cup sugar)
  • 1 cup milk
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 3 cup flour (prefer whole wheat flour)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. cardamom
  • 10 pcs dried fig
  • 1 cup chopped walnut (I prefer to make them big size via my hand)
  • 1 tbsp. poppy seed
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

Recipe

First, whisk the eggs well and add sugar and whisk more. Then, put milk, olive oil and keep whisking.

Chop the figs and walnuts on small pieces but I prefer big pieces and add all ingredients except flour, powder and baking soda.

When all is mixed well add slowly flour, powder and baking soda and mix them well. It is going to be little bit tough dough, not very liquid.

Then make oil wash on your cake pot and bake it during 35-40 min on 180oC.

Bon apetit.

fullsizerender4-copyfullsizerender6-copyfullsizerender5-copy

